First stop… Guanajuato

I began my trip falling in love… yes; you read correctly, I fell in love with this wonderful city. There is a lot to discover between legendary alleys and squares.

The city of Guanajuato located at the state of Guanajuato is one-of-a-kind, with colonial architecture, tons of historic places to visit and the most incredible panoramic view. Both historically and culturally, Guanajuato is one of the most important cities of Mexico.

P1040364

One of its emblems are the tunnels, they go through most of the city center and it´s very easy to get lost in them. (Been there, done that) There are 23 tunnels with 8km of length in total, but getting lost gives you the opportunity to admire these architectural gems. I don´t think you´ll find something like this anywhere else.

You can´t leave Guanajuato without having visited two characteristic spots: the University and El Pípila.

The stairs of the University of Guanajuato are (I would say) the second most iconic picture you´ll find of the city. Just gorgeous! However I can´t imagine working there and having to go up all those steps wearing a pencil skirt and heels. I´m such a girly girl, I know!

IMG_20161123_135314

 

The most Guanajuato-esque (LOL) photo you´ll find will be something like this:

IMG_20161123_181025 mm

There´s a very affordable gondola that takes you up the hill to this amazing view. However, for those who are feeling a bit more adventurous, there´s a staircase. Not for me though. (in my defense, I was wearing heels that day)

Inside the gondola, everything looks really nice (here´s a tip for you: the front window can be opened for better quality pics. You are welcome!) but once you get to the lookout, the city almost seems to be painted over the mountains. Absolutely breathtaking!

If you turn around for a moment (I know it´s hard with such a view! But please do) you´ll find a giant statue of El Pípila, a Mexican Independence War Hero.

IMG_20161123_172358mm

My recommendation: head over there right before sunset, that way you´ll see the city with blue a blue sky first and then it will slowly turn to the most beautiful pastel colors. On a different day I decided to go back after dinner and it was so very worth it (would also recommend)

IMG_20161125_233813

Well, this is a bit of an introduction to our first stop in this journey. Next posts will be about its museums, the Alhóndiga, the mummies, restaurants and much more…

I hope you enjoyed it. Until next time!

G.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑